(Pure Science is a Fundamental Pillar of Evolution) Under this slogan, the faculty of Science at Diyala University held its first integrated international scientific conference in partnership with Western Michigan University of America for two days the 26th and 27th of May 2021.

Prof. Abdel Monim Abbas Kerim said in his speech during the opening session:" As we hold this conference, we recall our the commitment of the ministry of higher education and scientific research represented by His Excellency Professor Dr. Nabil Kazem Abdel Sahib concerning the methodology of scientific research as part of its program to increase the research of Iraqi universities published in SCUPS. This intensity in publishing had strengthened the Iraqi universities' position in international rankings. For instance, Iraq had occupied the forty-fifth position internationally and the sixth position over the Middle East in Scimago for publishing more than 72600 papers in various disciplines". His Excellency added: "We appreciate the Faculty of Science efforts for holding the Conference, and we hope that the conference will achieve its objectives which reflects positively on the realities of education in the field of pure science.

For his part, Dr. Tahseen Hossein Mubarak the dean of the faculty of science said: "the Conference, which discussed eight areas of pure science aimed at bringing scientific ideas together among scientists and researchers in order to find effective solutions to the problems of society".  He appreciated the university president's attendance and supervision and thanked the conference committees for their efforts.

It is worth to be mentioned that the conference in which researchers from Iraq, America, Australia, India, and a number of Arab States participated, received 232 papers, 156 of which were accepted and 76 were excluded for not meeting the standards. Also, it was attended by a number of gentlemen, governors, University Council members, researchers, and teachers. A documentary film about the Faculty of Science was presented, and the distinguished members of the faculty were honored.