Establishment of the University:

The University of Diyala was found on the 18th of September 1999 it is a medium-sized university that will contain about 12000 students after the completion of all its service facilities. It is considered the most important scientific and cultural center in the governorate. Colleges of Engineering, Education, and Basic Education have previously established then the establishment of Diyala University came out of an urgent need for the establishment of a scientific center first to absorb the student momentum flow to Baghdad universities. Secondly, promoting the scientific and cultural progress in the governorate, and accommodating the increasing numbers of students in the governorate, as well as accommodating arrivals from neighboring governorates, students from distant governorates, and Arab students. In addition to the importance of the city of Baquba as an expansionist center for Baghdad has made it a focal point of commercial and population polarization, which has required the establishment of a scientific and academic center that meets the requirements of future development.

Ambitious plans:

The University has an ambitious agenda and is looking forward to establishing faculties of computers, languages, literature, and pharmacy in the future. In this vein, a full and sufficient study has been prepared for the future expansion of the University by the University Engineering Advisory Office.

University housing:

The University offers two excellent accommodations for its students, one at the university campus, and the other student housing building is located outside the university campus at the city center.

The university includes fourteen colleges with scientific and humanities:

1. Faculty of Basic Education

2. Faculty of Education for Pure Science

3. Faculty of Education for Human Science

4. Faculty of Physical Education and Sports Science

5. Faculty of Engineering

6. Faculty of Science

7. Faculty of Law and Political Science

8. Faculty of medicine

9. Faculty of Veterinary Medicine

10. Faculty of Agriculture

11. Faculty of Administration and Economics

12. Faculty of Islamic Science

13. Faculty of Fine Arts

14. Faculty of Education Al Mqdad.